FOLLOW US:
Ideas for home. Room for better sleep.Explore the sleep library
Menu
World DayHome · Decor · Sleep

Tuft & Needle vs Lucid: Which Budget Foam Brand Wins?

Choosing between Tuft & Needle and Lucid comes down to how much mattress you want for the money and how you like your foam to feel. Tuft & Needle sells eleven mattress models with prices running from $299.00 up to $2,645.00, while Lucid keeps its lineup to three memory foam mattresses starting at $119.99. Both brands ship in a box, but they take very different approaches to construction, firmness options, and coverage after delivery.

If you want responsive foam with bounce-back support and a medium-firm feel, Tuft & Needle is the better match. If you want the classic slow-sinking memory foam feel with gel infusions and a lower entry price, Lucid is the one to look at. Neither brand is right for everyone, and there is a stronger premium option for sleepers willing to spend more, which we cover below.

Saatva Classic mattress in a bedroom

A strong alternative

Saatva Classic for sleepers who want more than a bed in a box

  • 365-night home trial
  • Free white-glove delivery and old-mattress removal
  • Lifetime warranty
  • Three comfort levels: Plush Soft, Luxury Firm, and Firm

Check today’s Saatva price →

Tuft & Needle vs Lucid: Which Brand Should You Buy?

Tuft & Needle is the better pick for sleepers who want responsive foam that pushes back, a medium-firm feel across most of the lineup, and a choice between all-foam and hybrid builds. Lucid is the better pick for shoppers who want a true memory foam sink, gel infusions for heat, and the lowest possible entry price. Your answer depends on feel preference and budget, not on which brand is objectively better.

Tuft & Needle organizes its eleven models into three collections: Essential, Original, and Mint, plus the premium Mint Luxe. Each step up adds material. The Essential adds individually-wrapped coils for motion control. The Original adds Support Foam that cushions pressure points. The Mint adds Gel Memory Foam for contouring. The Mint Luxe pairs T&N Flex foam with High Density Gel Memory Foam and an extra cooling cover.

Lucid keeps things simpler with three memory foam mattresses: the Low Profile Memory Foam Mattress, the Original Memory Foam Mattress, and the Premium Memory Foam Mattress. All three use gel memory foam and bamboo charcoal infusions. The difference between them is profile height, firmness range, and how much support the foam delivers.

How Do Tuft & Needle and Lucid Feel?

Tuft & Needle describes most of its lineup as Medium-Firm, with the 2024 Original Hybrid at Medium and the 2024 Mint Hybrid at Plush. Lucid offers Plush, Medium Firm, and Medium-firm options across its three mattresses, depending on the model. If you want a consistent medium-firm feel with responsive bounce, Tuft & Needle is the closer match. If you want a plush, sinking memory foam feel, Lucid is the one.

The feel difference comes down to foam type. Tuft & Needle uses its proprietary T&N Adaptive foam and T&N Flex foam, both designed for bounce-back support. You settle in but do not stay stuck. Lucid uses gel-infused memory foam, which is designed to have a plush, sinking-in feel. The brand’s own guidance notes that memory foam has a denser feel than springs and is designed to help with pressure points.

For firmness, Tuft & Needle’s Original and Legacy models sit at Medium-Firm. The 2024 Original Hybrid moves to Medium, and the 2024 Mint Hybrid is the softest in the lineup at Plush. Lucid’s Low Profile model comes in Plush and Firm. The Original Memory Foam comes in Plush and Medium Firm. The Premium Memory Foam comes in Plush and Medium-firm. Both brands give you options, but Lucid’s range leans softer at the top end.

What Are Tuft & Needle and Lucid Made Of?

Tuft & Needle builds with T&N Adaptive foam, T&N Flex foam, Support Foam, Gel Memory Foam, and individually-wrapped coils in the hybrid models. Lucid builds with gel memory foam and bamboo charcoal-infused base foam across all three mattresses. Both brands use infusions designed for cooling and odor control, but the underlying foam feel is different.

Tuft & Needle’s collection structure means you can choose how much material you want. The Essential Collection pairs T&N Adaptive foam with individually-wrapped coils and a cooling cover. The Original Collection adds Support Foam for pressure point cushioning, in both all-foam and hybrid options. The Mint Collection adds Gel Memory Foam on top of everything in the Original. The Mint Luxe Collection is the most premium, with T&N Flex foam, High Density Gel Memory Foam, and an extra cooling cover.

Lucid’s three mattresses all use the same core materials: gel memory foam for cooling and contouring, plus bamboo charcoal-infused base foam that the brand describes as moisture-wicking and odor-reducing. The Low Profile model is the thinnest and least supportive. The Original is the brand’s best seller. The Premium is the highest-profile and most supportive of the three.

Side-by-Side Comparison

Feature Tuft & Needle Lucid
Models 11 mattresses 3 mattresses
Feel options Medium-Firm, Medium, Plush Plush, Medium Firm, Medium-firm, Firm
Construction All-foam and hybrid with individually-wrapped coils All-foam with gel memory foam and bamboo charcoal base
Price range $299.00 to $2,645.00 across the lineup From $119.99
Trial – 100-day sleep trial
Warranty – 10-year warranty covering defects in materials and workmanship
Shipping Mattress in a box Free shipping sitewide, arrives in 2-6 business days

Neither brand’s price list breaks out a specific queen price in the sources reviewed here, so we are not drawing value conclusions from individual size pricing. What is clear is that Tuft & Needle’s lineup spans a much wider price band, from the T&N Essential Hybrid at $299.00 up to the 2024 Mint Hybrid at $2,645.00, while Lucid’s entry point sits at $119.99 for the Low Profile Memory Foam Mattress.

Still deciding? If neither budget foam brand feels right, the Saatva Classic gives you three comfort levels and a dual-coil build.
See the Saatva Classic price in your size →

Which Brand Is Better for Hot Sleepers?

Both Tuft & Needle and Lucid build cooling features into their covers and foams, but they approach heat differently. Tuft & Needle uses cooling covers across its collections and adds Gel Memory Foam in the Mint and Mint Luxe lines. Lucid uses gel infusions in all three mattresses plus bamboo charcoal-infused base foam. Neither brand’s materials alone guarantee a cool night, so your body type and room temperature matter as much as the mattress.

Tuft & Needle’s top-tier Mint Luxe adds an Extra Cooling Cover on top of T&N Flex foam and High Density Gel Memory Foam. That is the brand’s most aggressive cooling build. Lucid’s Premium Memory Foam Mattress uses cooling gel infusions to help regulate body heat, plus refreshing bamboo charcoal infusions. If cooling is your top priority and you want to stay in the budget category, Lucid’s Premium model is worth a look. If you want a hybrid build with coils that allow airflow, Tuft & Needle’s hybrid options give you that.

For shoppers who want a dedicated cooling pick, our best cooling mattresses covers options beyond these two brands.

Who Should Buy Tuft & Needle?

Tuft & Needle is the right choice for sleepers who want responsive foam that does not leave them stuck, a medium-firm feel as the default, and the option to step up from all-foam to hybrid without switching brands. It suits combination sleepers who move at night, couples who want motion control in the hybrid models, and shoppers who want to choose exactly how much material they are paying for across the Essential, Original, and Mint collections.

The brand’s lineup also covers a wide budget range. If you want the entry point, the T&N Essential Hybrid Mattress starts at $299.00. If you want the most premium build, the T&N Mint Luxe Hybrid Mattress runs up to $2,549.00. That spread means you can stay inside one brand whether your budget is tight or flexible.

Tuft & Needle is also the better fit if you dislike the slow sink of traditional memory foam. The brand’s T&N Adaptive and T&N Flex foams are designed for bounce-back support, which means you get pressure relief without the feeling of being locked in one position all night.

Who Should Buy Lucid?

Lucid is the right choice for shoppers who want the classic memory foam feel, need the lowest possible entry price, and prefer a simple three-model lineup over a dozen options. It suits side sleepers who want plush cushioning at the hips and shoulders, first-time memory foam buyers, and anyone furnishing a guest room or starter apartment without spending much.

Lucid’s own sleep guidance recommends a plush to ultra-plush mattress for side sleepers, a firm feel for stomach sleepers, and a medium to medium-firm option for combination sleepers. With Plush, Medium Firm, and Firm options across its three mattresses, the brand covers all three positions. The Premium Memory Foam Mattress scores highest on support at 5 out of 5 and pressure relief at 4 out of 5, making it the strongest choice in Lucid’s own lineup for sleepers who need more from their foam.

Lucid also makes sense if you want a short, simple trial. The brand backs its mattresses with a 100-day sleep trial and a 10-year warranty covering defects in materials and workmanship. That is less coverage than some premium brands offer, but it is straightforward and applies across the lineup.

If you are shopping specifically for foam, our best memory foam mattresses guide covers more options in this category.

Who Should NOT Buy Either Brand?

Neither Tuft & Needle nor Lucid is the right choice for sleepers who want a luxury hotel feel, a pillow top, or white-glove delivery with old mattress removal. Both brands ship as a mattress in a box, which means you handle setup yourself. If you want in-room delivery and professional setup, you need to look at premium brands that offer it.

Heavy sleepers may also want more support than a budget all-foam mattress provides. Lucid’s own guidance notes that any weight limit comes from the bed frame, not the mattress, but that does not mean every foam build holds up equally well over time for heavier body types. If you are a heavier sleeper or share the bed with one, a hybrid or innerspring build with coils is worth considering.

Finally, if you want a long trial period to make up your mind, Lucid’s 100-day trial may feel short. Some premium brands offer a full year. If trial length matters to you, factor that into your decision.

For shoppers comparing hybrid builds, our best hybrid mattresses guide covers options with coils in the support layer.

Is the Saatva Classic a Better Alternative?

The Saatva Classic is a stronger option for sleepers who want more than a bed in a box. It is an innerspring mattress with a dual-coil design made of triple-tempered recycled carbon steel, a 3-inch Euro pillow top, and patented Lumbar Zone technology for spinal alignment. It comes in three comfort levels: Plush Soft at 3 out of 10, Luxury Firm at 5 to 7 out of 10, and Firm at 8 out of 10, where 1 is softest and 10 is firmest. That is Saatva’s own scale.

The Classic also includes free white-glove delivery with in-room setup and free removal of your old mattress, plus a 365-night home trial and a lifetime warranty. Neither Tuft & Needle nor Lucid matches that combination of delivery service, trial length, and warranty coverage in the sources reviewed here.

Saatva’s Classic is Chiropractor approved and endorsed by the American Chiropractic Association, and its foams are CertiPUR-US certified and GREENGUARD Gold certified. If you want a mattress that is delivered and set up for you, with a full year to try it and a lifetime warranty behind it, the Classic is worth the higher price.

For shoppers who want latex instead of foam or springs, our best latex mattresses guide covers that category.

World Sleep Almanac score: 7.6/10 for the Tuft & Needle vs Lucid comparison. Our score reflects the following criteria:

  • Price at equal size: 8/10. Both brands sit in the budget tier, with Lucid starting at $119.99 and Tuft & Needle at $299.00.
  • Trial and returns: 7/10. Lucid offers a 100-day trial. Tuft & Needle’s trial terms are not stated in the sources reviewed here.
  • Warranty: 7/10. Lucid’s 10-year warranty covers defects in materials and workmanship.
  • Materials and construction: 8/10. Both brands use gel infusions and charcoal-infused foams, with Tuft & Needle offering hybrid coil options.
  • Options and versatility: 8/10. Tuft & Needle’s eleven models cover a wider range than Lucid’s three.

Our scoring method weighs these criteria equally and reflects what each brand publishes about its own products.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Tuft & Needle firmer than Lucid?

Not necessarily. Tuft & Needle’s lineup defaults to Medium-Firm across the Original and Legacy models, with the 2024 Original Hybrid at Medium and the 2024 Mint Hybrid at Plush. Lucid offers Plush, Medium Firm, Medium-firm, and Firm options depending on the model. Both brands give you firmness choices, so the answer depends on which specific model you are comparing.

Does Lucid sleep hot?

Lucid builds cooling features into all three of its mattresses, including gel infusions designed to pull heat from the body and bamboo charcoal infusions that the brand describes as moisture-wicking and odor-reducing. The Premium Memory Foam Mattress adds cooling gel infusions to help regulate body heat. How cool you sleep also depends on your room temperature, bedding, and body type.

Can you flip a Tuft & Needle or Lucid mattress?

Neither brand’s product pages reviewed here state whether their mattresses are flippable. Most bed-in-a-box foam mattresses are designed to sleep on one side only, but you should confirm with the brand before flipping or rotating yours.

How long do Tuft & Needle and Lucid mattresses last?

Lucid’s own guidance notes that mattresses typically last between 7 and 10 years, though many variables influence longevity. Tuft & Needle’s expected lifespan is not stated in the sources reviewed here. Rotating your mattress regularly and using a supportive base can help both brands last longer.

Do these brands offer white-glove delivery?

Neither Tuft & Needle nor Lucid offers white-glove delivery in the sources reviewed here. Both ship as a mattress in a box, and Lucid notes free shipping sitewide with delivery in 2 to 6 business days. If you want in-room delivery and professional setup, the Saatva Classic includes both, along with free removal of your old mattress.

Verdict: Tuft & Needle wins this comparison for sleepers who want responsive foam, a medium-firm feel, and the option to add coils. Lucid is the better choice for shoppers who want the classic memory foam sink at the lowest price. If neither brand gives you the delivery service, trial length, or construction you want, the Saatva Classic is the premium alternative worth considering.

Ready to skip the bed in a box?

The Saatva Classic is delivered and set up in your room, with your old mattress taken away at no extra cost. Choose from three comfort levels and sleep on it for 365 nights.

See the Saatva Classic at Saatva.com →

For a deeper look at either brand, read our Tuft & Needle mattress review or our Lucid mattress review.

Reviewed by the World Sleep Almanac editorial team. Last updated October 2026.

Keep comparing