Tuft & Needle built its reputation on a simple promise: mattress in a box options designed off feedback from real sleepers, offering more value for your money no matter your budget. The brand now lists 11 products on its mattress page, spanning all-foam and hybrid builds across four collections, with prices running from $299.00 to $2,645.00. That range is the reason this brand is worth a close look: whether you want a basic foam bed for a guest room or a premium hybrid with an extra cooling cover, there is a T&N model priced for it.
For the full shortlist this model competes in, see our best hybrid mattresses.
The lineup is organized into four tiers. The Essential tier pairs T&N Adaptive foam with individually wrapped coils. The Original tier adds Support Foam that cushions pressure points, in all-foam and hybrid options. The Mint tier adds Gel Memory Foam for contouring pressure relief, again in all-foam and hybrid versions. The Mint Luxe tier is the most premium, combining T&N Flex foam, High Density Gel Memory Foam, and an extra cooling cover. Every model below is listed with its official price range and feel.
Our pick
Saatva Classicthe innerspring alternative if you want a pillow top and three comfort levels
- 365-night home trial
- Free white-glove delivery and old-mattress removal
- Lifetime warranty
- Available in Plush Soft, Luxury Firm, and Firm
Who is Tuft & Needle for?
Tuft & Needle suits shoppers who want a clear ladder of choices at clear prices. The brand sells 11 mattress products, and each collection adds a specific material: Support Foam in Original, Gel Memory Foam in Mint, and an extra cooling cover in Mint Luxe. If you know you want foam, the choice is about how much contouring you want. If you want coils, the hybrid versions of Original, Mint, and Essential are on the same page with their own prices.
The brand also suits buyers working within a defined budget. With a lowest listed price of $299.00 for the T&N Essential Hybrid Mattress and a highest of $2,645.00 for the 2024 Mint Hybrid Mattress, the spread covers a guest room purchase and a main-bedroom upgrade without leaving the brand. Financing through Affirm is offered at checkout, described on the brand site as buy now, pay later.
The full Tuft & Needle lineup at a glance
Every model below carries its official price range and its stated feel. Prices are as published on the Tuft & Needle mattress page and cover the size range offered for that model.
| Model | Price range | Feel |
|---|---|---|
| T&N Essential Hybrid Mattress | $299.00-$799.00 | Not stated |
| T&N Original Mattress II | $399.00-$899.00 | Not stated |
| T&N Original Mattress – Legacy Edition | $499.00-$899.00 | Medium-Firm |
| T&N Original Hybrid Mattress II | $549.00-$1,049.00 | Not stated |
| T&N Mint Mattress II | $549.00-$1,299.00 | Not stated |
| T&N Mint Hybrid Mattress II | $749.00-$1,499.00 | Not stated |
| 2024 Original Mattress | $695.00-$1,345.00 | Medium-Firm |
| 2024 Mint Mattress | $845.00-$1,845.00 | Medium |
| 2024 Original Hybrid Mattress | $1,045.00-$2,045.00 | Medium |
| T&N Mint Luxe Hybrid Mattress | $1,199.00-$2,549.00 | Not stated |
| 2024 Mint Hybrid Mattress | $1,445.00-$2,645.00 | Plush |
Which Tuft & Needle mattress should you buy?
The answer depends on which collection material you want and whether you prefer foam or coils. The Essential tier is the entry point, built on T&N Adaptive foam with individually wrapped coils, a cooling cover, and motion control. The Original tier adds Support Foam for pressure points. The Mint tier doubles the T&N Flex and Adaptive foams over the Original for extra cooling, contouring, and support, and adds Gel Memory Foam. Mint Luxe pairs T&N Flex foam with High Density Gel Memory Foam and an extra cooling cover.
On feel, the brand publishes ratings for five models: the T&N Original Mattress – Legacy Edition and the 2024 Original Mattress are Medium-Firm, the 2024 Original Hybrid Mattress and the 2024 Mint Mattress are Medium, and the 2024 Mint Hybrid Mattress is Plush. Shoppers who want a firmer starting point should look at the Medium-Firm Original models; those who want more give should look at the Plush Mint Hybrid.
- Budget guest room or first apartment: the T&N Essential Hybrid Mattress starts at $299.00.
- Medium-firm all-foam: the T&N Original Mattress – Legacy Edition starts at $499.00, the 2024 Original Mattress at $695.00.
- Coils with motion control: the 2024 Original Hybrid Mattress starts at $1,045.00 and is described as innovated for motion control.
- Plush hybrid with micro coils: the 2024 Mint Hybrid Mattress starts at $1,445.00 and is described as the brand’s most responsive with best motion control.
- Premium cooling build: the T&N Mint Luxe Hybrid Mattress starts at $1,199.00.
How does the construction translate into feel?
Tuft & Needle describes its collections as a ladder, each tier adding a material rather than changing the base. T&N Adaptive foam is the signature comfort layer across the line and is credited with the brand’s iconic bounce-back support. T&N Flex foam appears in the 2024 Original and in Mint Luxe. Support Foam in the Original tier gently cushions pressure points. Gel Memory Foam in the Mint tier delivers contouring pressure relief, and the Mint tier carries double the T&N Flex and Adaptive foams of the Original.
Hybrid models add coils. The Essential Hybrid, Original Hybrid, and Mint Hybrid all include individually wrapped coils, which the brand links to motion control between sleep partners. The 2024 Mint Hybrid goes further with micro coils for personalized support alongside its individually wrapped coils. All-foam models are described as foam layers supported by a durable base.
See the Saatva Classic price in your size →
What does a Tuft & Needle mattress cost in your size?
Prices are published as ranges, not as single figures, because each model is offered across sizes. The brand’s size filters list Twin, Twin XL, Full, Queen, King, and Cal King, with ten products available in Twin, Full, Queen, and King, and nine in Twin XL and Cal King. The lowest starting price in the lineup is $299.00 and the highest listed price is $2,645.00, which is the top of the 2024 Mint Hybrid Mattress range.
For shoppers searching a specific size, the practical approach is to pick the collection first and check the size second. The 2024 Original Mattress is listed at $695.00-$1,345.00 and the 2024 Mint Hybrid Mattress at $1,445.00-$2,645.00. The brand offers buy now, pay later with Affirm at checkout.
What are the trial, warranty, and shipping terms?
Shoppers should confirm those items directly with Tuft & Needle before ordering, since they vary by retailer and change over time. What is published is the buy now, pay later option with Affirm and a store locator on the brand site.
By contrast, the Saatva Classic carries a 365-night home trial, free white-glove delivery with in-room setup and old-mattress removal, and a lifetime warranty for the original purchaser. Those terms are stated on Saatva’s own pages and are the reason the pick block above recommends it for buyers who weight trial and delivery heavily.
Who should NOT buy a Tuft & Needle mattress?
Skip it if you want a split king, since the size list covers Twin through Cal King.
Also skip it if you are set on a single firmness number for every model: only five of the eleven products carry a published feel rating. If firmness matters to your decision, start with those five and confirm the rest with the brand.
How does the Saatva Classic compare?
The Saatva Classic is an innerspring mattress with a 3-inch Euro pillow top, a dual-coil design of triple-tempered recycled carbon steel, and over 1,000 coils in full size and up. It is offered in three comfort levels: Plush Soft at 3 out of 10, Luxury Firm at 5 to 7 out of 10, and Firm at 8 out of 10. It carries CertiPUR-US certified foams, GREENGUARD Gold certification, and endorsement from the American Chiropractic Association.
Where the two brands differ most is in how choices are presented. Tuft & Needle organizes by collection material and publishes price ranges per model. Saatva organizes by comfort level on a single model and publishes a single price per configuration, shown at $1,904 with a stated regular price of $2,229. Buyers who want one model with three feels should price the Classic; buyers who want a ladder of materials and prices should stay inside the T&N lineup.
| Tuft & Needle | Saatva Classic | |
|---|---|---|
| Range | 11 mattress products, four collections | One model, three comfort levels |
| Price span | $299.00 to $2,645.00 | $1,904 shown, $2,229 regular |
| Feel options | Medium-Firm, Medium, Plush on five models | Plush Soft, Luxury Firm, Firm |
| Heights | Not stated | 11.5 inches or 14.5 inches |
| Trial | 365 nights | |
| Warranty | Not stated on the mattress page | Lifetime for the original purchaser |
World Sleep Almanac score: 7.6/10
The World Sleep Almanac rates brands on five stated criteria: price at equal size, trial and returns, warranty, materials and construction, and public customer reviews. Tuft & Needle scores well on materials and construction, with a clear four-tier ladder from T&N Adaptive foam up to T&N Flex and Gel Memory Foam, and hybrid options with individually wrapped coils across three collections. It scores well on price, with a $299.00 entry point and published ranges for all 11 products.
The rating is editorial and reflects these criteria only; the method behind our scores will be published on a dedicated methodology page.
A useful companion to this page: our Tuft & Needle vs Casper comparison.
Frequently asked questions
How many mattresses does Tuft & Needle sell?
The brand’s mattress page lists 11 products. Ten are typed as Mattress and one as Mattresses in the site’s own filter. The lineup spans the Essential, Original, Mint, and Mint Luxe collections, in all-foam and hybrid versions.
What is the cheapest Tuft & Needle mattress?
The T&N Essential Hybrid Mattress has the lowest published starting price at $299.00, with a range up to $799.00. It is built on T&N Adaptive foam with individually wrapped coils, a cooling cover, and motion control.
What is the difference between the Original and Mint collections?
The Original collection includes everything in the Essential collection plus Support Foam that cushions pressure points. The Mint collection includes everything in the Original plus Gel Memory Foam for contouring pressure relief, and the brand describes the Mint as carrying double the T&N Flex and Adaptive foams of the Original.
Is the Tuft & Needle Mint mattress firm or soft?
The 2024 Mint Mattress is published with a Medium feel. The 2024 Mint Hybrid Mattress, which adds micro coils and individually wrapped coils, is published with a Plush feel. The other Mint models do not carry a published feel on the mattress page.
Does Tuft & Needle sell a hybrid mattress?
Yes. Five hybrid models are listed: the T&N Essential Hybrid Mattress, the T&N Original Hybrid Mattress II, the T&N Mint Hybrid Mattress II, the 2024 Mint Hybrid Mattress, and the 2024 Original Hybrid Mattress. Each pairs foam layers with individually wrapped coils, and the brand links those coils to motion control between partners.
What sizes does Tuft & Needle offer?
The size filters list Twin, Twin XL, Full, Queen, King, and Cal King. Ten products are available in Twin, Full, Queen, and King, and nine in Twin XL and Cal King.
Can I pay for a Tuft & Needle mattress over time?
The brand site offers buy now, pay later with Affirm at checkout.
Verdict: Tuft & Needle is the right brand for shoppers who want a material ladder at published prices, from a $299.00 hybrid up to a $2,645.00 plush hybrid, with Medium-Firm, Medium, and Plush feels across the line. Buyers who weight a 365-night trial, free white-glove delivery, and a lifetime warranty should price the Saatva Classic instead, where those terms are published on the same page as the mattress.
Reviewed by the World Sleep Almanac editorial team. Updated 2026.