FOLLOW US:
Ideas for home. Room for better sleep.Explore the sleep library
Menu
World DayHome · Decor · Sleep

Leesa vs Tuft and Needle: Which Mattress Should You Buy?

Leesa and Tuft & Needle both sell foam and hybrid mattresses in a box, and both build their lineups around a few clear collections rather than dozens of near-identical models. The choice between them comes down to how you want the surface to feel, how much you want to spend, and whether you prefer an all-foam build or a coil-supported one. This comparison lays out what each brand publishes about its own mattresses so you can decide which one fits your sleep.

Saatva Classic mattress in a bedroom

A strong alternative

Saatva Classicif neither Leesa nor Tuft & Needle feels right

  • 365-night home trial
  • Free white-glove delivery and old-mattress removal
  • Lifetime warranty
  • Three comfort levels: Plush Soft, Luxury Firm and Firm

Check today’s Saatva price →

Which mattress should you buy, Leesa or Tuft and Needle?

The short answer: pick Leesa if you want a mattress built around breathable, hole-punched memory foam and a hybrid line that pairs responsive foam with individually wrapped springs. Pick Tuft & Needle if you want a simpler foam-forward lineup with clearly tiered collections and a lower entry price. Both brands publish their construction and pricing openly, so the decision rests on feel and budget rather than hidden specs.

What does each brand actually sell?

Tuft & Needle lists 11 products on its mattresses page, spanning all-foam and hybrid options across three named collections plus a legacy model. The Essential collection pairs T&N Adaptive foam with individually wrapped coils and a cooling cover. The Original collection adds support foam that cushions pressure points, in both all-foam and hybrid versions. The Mint collection adds gel memory foam for contouring pressure relief, also in all-foam and hybrid versions. The Mint Luxe collection is the most premium tier, combining T&N Flex foam, high density gel memory foam and an extra cooling cover.

Leesa describes its mattress construction in terms of four common types: memory foam, latex, innerspring and hybrid. Its own memory foam mattresses are hole-punched for breathability, and its hybrid line uses responsive breathable foam over a layer of plush memory foam, with 1,000 individually wrapped springs underneath in the Leesa Sapira Hybrid.

How do the feels compare?

Tuft & Needle publishes a feel rating for each of its models. The T&N Original Legacy Edition and the 2024 Original are both medium-firm. The 2024 Original Hybrid is medium. The 2024 Mint is medium. The 2024 Mint Hybrid is plush. This gives you a clear ladder: firmer in the Original tier, softer as you move up to Mint and Mint Hybrid.

Leesa frames its feel guidance around body type and sleep position rather than a numbered scale. Its memory foam mattresses conform to body weight and relieve pressure points, with multiple foam layers where each layer is softer than the one below. If you want a firm, responsive surface, the Tuft & Needle Original tier is the clearer starting point. If you want contouring and pressure relief, Leesa’s layered foam approach and the Tuft & Needle Mint tier both point in that direction.

Which materials go into each mattress?

Leesa explains that memory foam is mostly polyurethane plus additives, and that its memory foam mattresses are hole-punched for breathability so hot sleepers can stay cool. Its hybrid construction combines individually wrapped springs with memory foam, and the Leesa Sapira Hybrid uses a responsive breathable comfort layer, a plush memory foam layer, and 1,000 individually wrapped springs. Leesa also notes that latex mattresses, made from natural latex foam derived from rubber tree sap, offer a more responsive, breathable feel with long-lasting durability.

Tuft & Needle builds its tiers by adding one material at a time. The Essential collection uses T&N Adaptive foam with individually wrapped coils and a cooling cover. The Original collection adds support foam. The Mint collection adds gel memory foam. The Mint Luxe collection adds T&N Flex foam, high density gel memory foam and an extra cooling cover.

Decision axis Leesa Tuft & Needle
Product range Memory foam, latex, innerspring and hybrid types; Leesa Sapira Hybrid uses 1,000 individually wrapped springs 11 products across Essential, Original, Mint and Mint Luxe collections plus a legacy model
Feel Layered foam, each layer softer than the last; conforms to body weight Medium-firm (Original, Legacy), medium (Original Hybrid, Mint), plush (Mint Hybrid)
Cooling approach Hole-punched memory foam for breathability; responsive breathable foam in hybrids Cooling covers on Essential; extra cooling cover on Mint Luxe
Price range (list) Not stated on the pages reviewed here $299.00 to $2,645.00 across the full range
Entry price (list) Not stated on the pages reviewed here T&N Essential Hybrid from $299.00

Is one better for hot sleepers?

Both brands address heat in their own way. Leesa hole-punches its memory foam for breathability so air can move through the comfort layers, and its hybrid comfort layer is described as responsive and breathable. Tuft & Needle puts a cooling cover on the Essential collection and an extra cooling cover on the Mint Luxe collection, the top tier. If cooling features are your main concern, the Tuft & Needle Mint Luxe Hybrid is the model that carries the most cooling language in the lineup, while Leesa’s breathability claim applies across its memory foam range.

Still deciding? If neither foam-forward option convinces you, the Saatva Classic comes in three comfort levels with a dual-coil design.
See the Saatva Classic price in your size →

What does each brand charge?

Tuft & Needle publishes list prices for every model. The T&N Essential Hybrid starts at $299.00 and runs to $799.00. The T&N Original Mattress II runs $399.00 to $899.00. The T&N Original Hybrid Mattress II runs $549.00 to $1,049.00. The 2024 Original runs $695.00 to $1,345.00. The 2024 Original Hybrid runs $1,045.00 to $2,045.00. The 2024 Mint runs $845.00 to $1,845.00. The 2024 Mint Hybrid runs $1,445.00 to $2,645.00. The T&N Mint Mattress II runs $549.00 to $1,299.00. The T&N Mint Hybrid Mattress II runs $749.00 to $1,499.00. The T&N Mint Luxe Hybrid runs $1,199.00 to $2,549.00. The T&N Original Legacy Edition runs $499.00 to $899.00.

The price spread means you can enter the Tuft & Needle lineup at a genuinely low budget with the Essential Hybrid, or step up to the Mint Luxe Hybrid at the top of the range. Leesa’s own pages reviewed here do not list prices, so a direct price comparison between the two brands is not something these sources support.

How do trial, warranty and shipping compare?

The Tuft & Needle and Leesa pages reviewed here do not publish trial length, warranty terms or shipping policy details. Those are the terms you should confirm directly with each brand before ordering. If a long trial and a clear warranty matter to you, the Saatva Classic carries a 365-night home trial, free white-glove delivery with in-room setup, free old-mattress removal, and a lifetime warranty for the original purchaser.

Who should buy Leesa?

Leesa suits sleepers who want a memory foam mattress built for breathability and pressure relief, with hole-punched foam designed to move air through the comfort layers. It also suits shoppers who want a hybrid option where responsive breathable foam sits over plush memory foam and 1,000 individually wrapped springs. If you like the idea of a brand that explains the difference between memory foam, latex, innerspring and hybrid constructions and builds across those types, Leesa is the better fit. It is also the choice for anyone who wants contouring that conforms to body weight rather than a firm, responsive surface.

Who should buy Tuft & Needle?

Tuft & Needle suits shoppers who want a clearly tiered lineup where each collection adds one material over the last, so you can see exactly what you are paying for. It suits budget buyers, since the Essential Hybrid starts at $299.00 and the Original Mattress II starts at $399.00. It suits anyone who wants a published feel rating to guide the choice: medium-firm in the Original tier, medium in the Original Hybrid and Mint, plush in the Mint Hybrid. It also suits hot sleepers who want a cooling cover as a named feature, and couples who want the motion control language attached to the hybrid models with individually wrapped coils.

Which one wins the comparison?

Tuft & Needle wins this face-to-head on transparency and range. It publishes a feel rating for every model, a list price for every size range, and a collection structure that tells you which material each tier adds. Leesa’s pages give a strong account of how its mattresses are built, particularly the hole-punched memory foam and the hybrid layer stack, but they do not give you the same shelf of priced, rated options to compare. That makes Tuft & Needle the easier brand to shop with confidence when you are choosing between the two.

Leesa still wins for a specific shopper: someone who wants a hybrid with 1,000 individually wrapped springs under a breathable foam comfort layer, or someone drawn to the brand’s explanation of latex as a more responsive, breathable and durable option. If neither brand’s published details settle it for you, the Saatva Classic is a genuine third path with three comfort levels, a dual-coil design, a 365-night trial and a lifetime warranty.

World Sleep Almanac score: 7.6/10

Leesa vs Tuft & Needle, editorial rating. Criteria and sub-scores: price at equal size 8/10 (Tuft & Needle publishes a full list-price ladder from $299.00 to $2,645.00, Leesa’s pages give none); materials and construction 8/10 (both brands describe their foam, coil and cooling layers in detail); feel guidance 8/10 (Tuft & Needle rates every model, Leesa guides by layer and body type); trial and returns 6/10 (neither brand’s pages reviewed here state trial or warranty terms); public customer reviews 8/10 (both operate established direct-to-consumer mattress lines). The score is an editorial rating based on these criteria, not a lab test.

The verdict: Tuft & Needle is the pick for most shoppers comparing these two, thanks to its published feels, published prices and tiered collections. Leesa is the pick if you want breathable hole-punched memory foam or a hybrid with 1,000 individually wrapped springs. Neither brand’s pages cover trial and warranty terms, so confirm those before you order.

Check today’s Saatva price →

Frequently asked questions

Leesa vs tuft and needle, which is cheaper?

Tuft & Needle publishes list prices across its full range, from $299.00 for the T&N Essential Hybrid up to $2,645.00 at the top of the 2024 Mint Hybrid range. Leesa’s pages reviewed here do not list prices, so a direct cost comparison between the two brands cannot be made from these sources.

Leesa vs tuft needle, which is better for back pain?

Neither brand’s pages reviewed here make a specific claim about back pain. Leesa does describe its memory foam as conforming to body weight and relieving pressure points, and its hybrid design as combining wrapped springs with memory foam. If back support is your main concern, the Saatva Classic carries chiropractor-approved Lumbar Zone technology and is endorsed by the American Chiropractic Association.

Is Tuft and Needle good for hot sleepers?

Tuft & Needle names cooling as a feature across its collections: the Essential collection includes a cooling cover, and the Mint Luxe collection adds an extra cooling cover on top of T&N Flex foam and high density gel memory foam. Leesa takes a different route, hole-punching its memory foam for breathability so air can move through the comfort layers.

Which Tuft and Needle mattress is the firmest?

The T&N Original Legacy Edition and the 2024 Original both carry a medium-firm feel rating, which is the firmest published rating in the current lineup. The 2024 Original Hybrid and 2024 Mint are rated medium, and the 2024 Mint Hybrid is rated plush.

Does Leesa offer a hybrid mattress?

Yes. Leesa describes hybrid mattresses as combining individually wrapped springs with memory foam, and the Leesa Sapira Hybrid uses a responsive breathable comfort layer, a plush memory foam layer, and 1,000 individually wrapped springs underneath.

Reviewed by the World Sleep Almanac editorial team. Updated 2026.

Keep comparing