The Sleepy’s By Sealy Spring Stella Medium is an innerspring mattress priced at $320.00, built under two names shoppers already know: Sleepy’s and Sealy. Sherwood Bedding lists it as providing enhanced support and pressure relief, conforming to the body for proper spinal alignment, and breathing well enough to help regulate body temperature. The pitch is straightforward value from trusted brands, and the mattress is positioned as ideal for side, back and stomach sleepers. One notice on the Sherwood product page matters before anything else: this product is a Mattress Firm employee exclusive, which shapes who can actually buy it.
We also weigh this mattress against its rivals in our best innerspring mattresses.
Our pick
Saatva Classicthe open-market alternative if the Spring Stella Medium is not available to you
- 365-night home trial
- Free white-glove delivery and old-mattress removal
- Lifetime warranty
- Three comfort levels and two mattress heights
Who is the Spring Stella Medium for?
The Spring Stella Medium is for shoppers who want a medium feel innerspring at a low price, who sleep on their side, back or stomach, and who can buy through Mattress Firm as an employee. Sherwood states the mattress is ideal for all three sleep positions, reduces disturbances and pressure, and relieves pain discomfort. If you want one mattress that handles mixed sleeping positions without a firmness debate, this is the profile the product page describes.
It is also for value buyers who lean on brand recognition. The product carries both the Sleepy’s name and the Sealy name, and Sherwood frames it as great value from trusted Sealy and Sleepy’s brands. At $320.00, it sits in the entry tier of the Sherwood catalog, below the Spring Plush Euro Top at $390.00 and the Spring Firm at $340.00.
It is not for open-market shoppers. The employee-exclusive notice is the single most important buying condition on the page, and it applies before price, feel or specifications.
What does the specification sheet actually say?
The Sherwood listing gives a price and a set of performance claims, not a layer-by-layer build. Here is what the product page states, alongside the related Sleepy’s By Sealy models Sherwood lists next to it, so you can see where the Spring Stella Medium sits by price.
| Item | Spring Stella Medium | Related model on the same page |
|---|---|---|
| Listed price | $320.00 | Sleepy’s By Sealy Spring Medium, $330.00 |
| Feel | Medium | Spring Plush Euro Top, Spring Firm |
| Stated sleep positions | Side, back and stomach | Not stated on this page |
| Availability | Mattress Firm employee exclusive | Not flagged as exclusive |
| Brand | Sleepy’s By Sealy, Sherwood Bedding | Sleepy’s By Sealy, Sherwood Bedding |
The gap between $320.00 and $330.00 for the Spring Medium is small, and the two names are easy to confuse. The distinguishing line on the Stella page is the employee-exclusive notice, not a specification difference.
How should you read the feel and support claims?
Read them as the manufacturer’s own description of intent. Sherwood says the mattress conforms to the body for proper spinal alignment, provides enhanced support and pressure relief, reduces disturbances and pressure, and relieves pain discomfort. For a medium innerspring, that combination describes a surface that yields at the shoulders and hips while the spring system keeps the spine in line, which is the balance side sleepers usually want and the reason the page lists all three positions as ideal.
The breathability claim is stated twice on the page: breathable and helps regulate body temperature, and regulates body temperature. Sherwood presents temperature control as a feature of the build rather than an accessory claim. If you sleep warm, that is the line to weigh, keeping in mind it is a brand statement about design intent.
What the page does not give you is a coil count, a foam density, a cover material, a height in inches, or a firmness number on a 1 to 10 scale. The word Medium in the product name is the only firmness signal available, and it is a marketing name rather than a measured rating. Shoppers who decide by number rather than by name will find the Saatva Classic easier to place, since Saatva publishes comfort levels with ratings: Plush Soft at 3/10, Luxury Firm at 5 to 7 out of 10, and Firm at 8 out of 10.
See the Saatva Classic price in your size →
What does the price include, and what does it not?
The Sherwood product page lists the Spring Stella Medium at $320.00 with size and quantity selectors and an add to cart control. No trial period, no delivery service, no removal of an old mattress, and no warranty term appear anywhere on that listing. The page also shows foundation options sold separately, including Sleepy’s High Profile Semi-Flex and Low Profile Semi-Flex at $60.00 each, and SBS Universal High Profile and Low Profile Semi-Flex at $60.00 each, each marked as requiring a mattress purchase.
That is the whole commercial picture available for this model: a price, a size selector, and the accessory line. Compare that with the Saatva Classic, where the listing carries a 365-night home trial, free white-glove delivery with in-room setup, free old mattress removal on request, and a lifetime warranty for the original purchaser. The Saatva Classic is listed at $1,904.00 against a regular $2,229.00 at the time of writing, which is a different budget tier entirely, and the point of comparison is the service package rather than the sticker price.
Who should not buy the Spring Stella Medium?
Skip this mattress if you are not a Mattress Firm employee, because the Sherwood page flags it as an employee exclusive and that condition governs the purchase. Skip it if you buy by specification, since no coil count, height, cover material, trial, warranty or delivery terms are given on the listing. Skip it if you need a stated weight limit or a durability figure, because the page does not provide one.
Skip it also if you want a firmness number to compare against other mattresses. Medium is a name here, not a rating, and there is no published scale to place it on. Finally, skip it if you want the buying protection that normally surrounds an online mattress purchase. The Sherwood listing for this model is a price and a cart button, and nothing about returns or guarantees accompanies it.
How does it compare with the Saatva Classic?
The two mattresses solve different problems. The Spring Stella Medium is a $320.00 innerspring from Sherwood under the Sleepy’s By Sealy name, sold as a Mattress Firm employee exclusive with a medium feel aimed at side, back and stomach sleepers. The Saatva Classic is an innerspring sold openly, with a 3-inch Euro pillow top, a dual-coil design of over 1,000 recycled carbon steel coils in full size and up, triple-tempered for durability, and patented Lumbar Zone technology for spinal alignment.
| Point of comparison | Spring Stella Medium | Saatva Classic |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $320.00 | $1,904.00, reduced from $2,229.00 |
| Comfort choices | Medium only | Plush Soft, Luxury Firm, Firm |
| Height choices | Not stated | 11.5 inches or 14.5 inches |
| Trial | Not stated | 365 nights |
| Delivery | Not stated | Free white-glove setup and mattress removal |
| Warranty | Not stated | Lifetime, original purchaser |
| Availability | Employee exclusive | Open to any buyer |
Saatva also publishes certifications for the Classic: CertiPUR-US certified foams, GREENGUARD Gold certification, and endorsement by the American Chiropractic Association. The Classic is chiropractor approved and carries Lumbar Zone technology aimed at back and joint pain, which speaks directly to the pain-relief language Sherwood uses for the Stella without offering a comparable certification on its page.
Who should buy the Saatva Classic instead: anyone outside the Mattress Firm employee group, anyone who wants a trial period and a warranty attached to the purchase, and anyone who prefers to choose between three comfort levels rather than accept one. The Classic also suits couples who cannot agree on firmness, since Saatva positions the Luxury Firm level as ideal for couples with different firmness preferences and sleep styles, and heavier sleepers, since the Firm level is described as suited to body types around 250 to 300 pounds. Who should buy the Spring Stella Medium: a Mattress Firm employee who wants a medium innerspring at $320.00 and is comfortable buying without a stated trial, warranty or delivery package. That is a narrow, specific buyer, and for that buyer the value case is real, because the Sleepy’s and Sealy names carry weight at a price under a third of the Saatva Classic.
What is the World Sleep Almanac score?
World Sleep Almanac score: 6.4/10. The score is an editorial judgment built from five criteria, each weighed on what the product listing provides rather than on any hands-on trial. Price at equal size scores high, because $320.00 is a genuinely low entry point for an innerspring carrying the Sealy name. Materials and construction score mid, since Sherwood states support, alignment and breathability but gives no layer detail, coil count or height. Trial and returns score low, because no trial appears on the listing. Warranty scores low for the same reason, with no term published. Availability scores lowest of all, since the employee-exclusive notice removes most of the market from consideration.
The method behind the score weighs those five criteria against what a typical online mattress buyer would expect to see on a product page, and it is applied consistently across the Almanac’s model reviews.
Readers weighing the same choice often move on to our Spring Luna Euro Top review.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Spring Stella Medium available to everyone?
No. The Sherwood product page carries a notice stating that this product is a Mattress Firm employee exclusive, so the purchase path runs through that employment group rather than through open retail.
Which sleep positions does Sherwood say it suits?
Sherwood lists the mattress as ideal for side, back and stomach sleepers, and describes it as conforming to the body for proper spinal alignment. The page presents it as a single medium feel that covers all three positions rather than as a position-specific model.
Does the listing state a height or a coil count?
No height in inches and no coil count appear on the Sherwood listing for this model. The only firmness signal given is the word Medium in the product name.
What related Sleepy’s By Sealy models does Sherwood list?
The same page shows the Sleepy’s By Sealy Spring Medium at $330.00, the Spring Plush Euro Top at $390.00, the Spring Firm at $340.00, the Spring Plush at $365.00, and the Spring Luna Euro Top at $300.00, alongside foam models such as the 10.5 inch Medium ET at $305.00 and the Plush 2.0 at $316.00.
Is a foundation sold with the mattress?
No foundation is bundled. Sherwood lists Sleepy’s and SBS semi-flex foundations as separate items at $60.00 each, each marked as requiring a mattress purchase.
Verdict
The Sleepy’s By Sealy Spring Stella Medium earns its $320.00 for the one shopper who can buy it: a Mattress Firm employee who wants a medium innerspring with a brand name behind it. Everyone else runs into the exclusive notice, and for that larger group the Saatva Classic is the innerspring with the published comfort levels, the 365-night trial, the white-glove delivery and the lifetime warranty.
Reviewed by the World Sleep Almanac editorial team. Updated 2026.