Sleep Number rebuilt its entire mattress portfolio in 2026, replacing the old c, p and i series with five new collections that run from $1,999 to $8,999. The reason to consider the brand is simple: every bed in the range is a smart bed with adjustable firmness, delivered with in-home setup and Sleep IQ activation, and backed by a 100-night trial. The reason to think carefully is the price ladder, which climbs steeply as you move from the entry ComfortMode up to the Climate360 at $8,999.
This review is part of our guide to the best cooling mattresses, where the strongest models are compared side by side.
The redesigned lineup was announced on March 23, 2026, and is available nationwide in Sleep Number stores and at SleepNumber.com. Below you will find the full lineup with prices, which model suits which sleeper, the brand’s trial, warranty and delivery terms, and an honest account of who should look at a different mattress instead.
Our pick
Saatva Classicthe adjustable-firmness alternative if you want luxury construction without smart-bed electronics
- 365-night home trial
- Free white-glove delivery and old-mattress removal
- Lifetime warranty
- Three comfort levels: Plush Soft, Luxury Firm and Firm
What is Sleep Number known for?
Sleep Number is known for smart beds whose firmness you adjust yourself, plus a companion app that tracks your sleep through Sleep IQ. The brand designs its mattresses around pressure relief and temperature, and the 2026 portfolio makes that explicit: each model states how much built-in cooling material it carries and which body areas it targets for relief. Home delivery includes setup of the bed and base along with Sleep IQ setup, so the smart features are working before the delivery team leaves.
The brand also backs its mattresses with a stated design life of 25 years or more, covered by a 10-Year Limited Warranty. That combination of adjustable feel, app-based sleep tracking and long design life is what defines Sleep Number against a conventional mattress purchase.
Which Sleep Number model should you buy?
The lineup splits into five collections with clear price steps. The entry ComfortMode starts at $1,999 and focuses on hip relief, while the ComfortNext collection adds shoulder, knee and lower back relief across three heights. The Climate collection holds the two premium beds: ClimateCool at $5,499 and the Climate360 at $8,999, which adjusts up to 30 degrees cooler to warmer for your ideal sleep climate.
| Model | Price | Height | Relief and cooling focus |
|---|---|---|---|
| ComfortMode | $1,999 | Not stated | Advanced relief for hips |
| ComfortMode Lux | $2,499 | 11 inches | Hip relief, 25 percent more built-in cooling materials |
| ComfortNext | $2,999 | 12 inches | Hips, shoulders and knees, 50 percent more built-in cooling materials |
| ComfortNext Lux | $3,999 | 13 inches | Hips, shoulders, knees and lower back, 67 percent more cooling materials and superior airflow |
| ComfortNext Ultra | $4,499 | 14 inches | Maximum relief for hips, shoulders, knees and lower back, 175 percent more cooling materials and maximum airflow |
| ClimateCool | $5,499 | Not stated | Climate collection cooling focus |
| Climate360 | $8,999 | 13 inches | Adjusts up to 30 degrees cooler to warmer |
Prices shown are the figures published by Sleep Number for each model. If you are comparing the entry point against other brands, the ComfortMode at $1,999 is where the range begins.
Who should buy each Sleep Number bed?
Pick by the body area you need relieved and how much you care about temperature. The ComfortMode at $1,999 suits a shopper who wants a smart bed at the lowest entry price and mainly needs hip relief. Move to the ComfortMode Lux at $2,499 if you want that same hip focus with 25 percent more built-in cooling materials in an 11-inch profile.
The ComfortNext collection is the step up for sleepers who need relief beyond the hips. ComfortNext at $2,999 targets hips, shoulders and knees with 50 percent more cooling materials. ComfortNext Lux at $3,999 adds lower back relief, 67 percent more cooling materials and superior airflow in a 13-inch build. ComfortNext Ultra at $4,499 is the maximum option in that collection: 14 inches, relief for hips, shoulders, knees and lower back, 175 percent more cooling materials and maximum airflow.
At the top, ClimateCool at $5,499 sits in the Climate collection for shoppers whose priority is temperature. Climate360 at $8,999 is the flagship: it adjusts up to 30 degrees cooler to warmer for your ideal sleep climate, stands 13 inches tall, and is the bed to consider if climate control is the whole reason you are shopping.
Shoppers who previously owned or researched the c2, p5, p6, i8 and i10 Smart Beds should note that those models belonged to the lineup Sleep Number replaced with the redesigned portfolio announced March 23, 2026. Our individual reviews of those earlier models describe beds from that previous range, and you can still read them for context: Sleep Number c2 review, Sleep Number p5 review, Sleep Number i8 review and Sleep Number c4 review.
See the Saatva Classic price in your size →
How much does a Sleep Number bed cost?
Sleep Number bed prices run from $1,999 for the ComfortMode to $8,999 for the Climate360. The table above lists every published price, so you can match a budget to a model without guessing.
What are Sleep Number’s trial, warranty and delivery terms?
Sleep Number offers a 100-night trial on its mattresses. The brand backs them with a 10-Year Limited Warranty, and states that Sleep Number mattresses are designed to last 25 years or more. Home Delivery includes setup of your new bed and/or base and Sleep IQ setup, so the smart features are configured for you.
These three terms apply across the brand rather than varying by model, which makes them easy to compare against any other mattress you are considering. A 100-night trial is shorter than the year-long trials some competitors offer, so factor that into how quickly you need to decide.
Who should NOT buy a Sleep Number?
Sleep Number is not the right call for three kinds of shopper. First, if your budget is under $1,999, the range has no entry point for you and a conventional mattress will serve better. Second, if you want a long home trial before committing, the 100-night window is on the short side and you should weigh that against brands offering a full year. Third, if you have no interest in adjustable firmness or app-based sleep tracking, you would be paying for smart-bed features you will not use.
Shoppers comparing across brands will find dedicated head-to-head pages useful here: Saatva vs Sleep Number, Tempur-Pedic vs Sleep Number, Purple vs Sleep Number and Sleep Number vs DreamCloud.
How does the Saatva Classic compare as an alternative?
The Saatva Classic takes a different route to customizable comfort: instead of electronics, it offers three fixed comfort levels you choose at purchase. Plush Soft is rated 3 out of 10 and suits side sleepers and lighter-weight people. Luxury Firm is rated 5 to 7 out of 10, is the brand’s most popular level, and is designed to work for all sleep positions and couples who disagree on firmness. Firm is rated 8 out of 10 and suits stomach sleepers, back sleepers who want a very firm surface, and heavier body types around 250 to 300 pounds.
The Classic is built with a 3-inch Euro pillow top, a dual-coil design of over 1,000 recycled carbon steel coils in full size and up, tempered three times, and patented Lumbar Zone Technology for spinal alignment. The cover is a breathable blend including organic cotton, treated with Guardin botanical antimicrobial treatment. It is CertiPUR-US certified, GREENGUARD Gold certified, and endorsed by the American Chiropractic Association.
Where the terms differ sharply: Saatva carries a 365-night home trial against Sleep Number’s 100 nights, and a lifetime warranty against the 10-Year Limited Warranty. Saatva also includes free white-glove delivery with in-room setup and free old-mattress removal, while Sleep Number’s Home Delivery covers bed and base setup plus Sleep IQ setup. Prices for the Classic begin at $1,904 during the current promotion, with a regular price of $2,229 for the size shown.
World Sleep Almanac score: 7.6/10. The score rates Sleep Number as a brand overall and is judged on five criteria: price at an equivalent size, trial and return terms, warranty length, materials and construction, and publicly stated customer positioning. Sleep Number scores well on construction transparency, since each model publishes its relief zones, cooling percentages and height, and on delivery, since setup and Sleep IQ activation are included. It loses points on the 100-night trial, which is short for a premium purchase, and on the 10-Year Limited Warranty, which is shorter than the lifetime coverage rivals offer. The steep price climb from $1,999 to $8,999 also counts against it at equivalent sizes. The scoring method is our editorial framework for comparing mattresses on stated terms, and a fuller methodology page will follow.
Verdict: Sleep Number’s 2026 redesign gives the brand its clearest lineup yet, with a model for hip relief, a model for full-body relief and a flagship that adjusts 30 degrees in either direction. Buy it if you want adjustable firmness, sleep tracking and in-home setup, and if your budget reaches at least $1,999. Look elsewhere if you want a longer trial, a longer warranty, or a bed with no electronics in it.
Our pick
Saatva Classicthe non-electronic alternative with a longer trial and warranty
- 365-night home trial
- Free white-glove delivery and old-mattress removal
- Lifetime warranty
- Over 1,000 triple-tempered coils in full size and up
Readers weighing the same choice often move on to our DreamCloud vs Sleep Number comparison.
Frequently asked questions
What is a Sleep Number smart bed?
A Sleep Number smart bed is a mattress whose firmness you adjust yourself, paired with Sleep IQ sleep tracking. The 2026 portfolio was redesigned into five collections, announced March 23, 2026, and each model states its relief zones and cooling material level so you can match the bed to how you sleep.
How much does a Sleep Number bed cost in king size?
Published prices run from $1,999 for the ComfortMode up to $8,999 for the Climate360, with the ComfortNext collection spanning $2,999 to $4,499. The brand does not publish separate king-size figures in the lineup listing, so treat these as the range you are working within and confirm your size at checkout.
Does Sleep Number offer a trial period?
Yes. Sleep Number offers a 100-night trial on its mattresses, which applies across the range rather than varying by model.
How long is the Sleep Number warranty?
The warranty is 10 years, listed as a 10-Year Limited Warranty. Sleep Number also states its mattresses are designed to last 25 years or more.
Is delivery and setup included with a Sleep Number bed?
Yes. Home Delivery includes setup of your new bed and/or base along with Sleep IQ setup, so the smart features are configured in your home.
Which Sleep Number model has the best cooling?
The Climate360 at $8,999 is the temperature flagship, adjusting up to 30 degrees cooler to warmer for your ideal sleep climate. Within the ComfortNext collection, the Ultra carries 175 percent more built-in cooling materials and maximum airflow, the highest cooling figure stated for that collection.
What happened to the Sleep Number c2, p5, i8 and c4 models?
Those models belonged to the lineup Sleep Number replaced with its redesigned portfolio announced March 23, 2026. Our individual reviews of the c2, p5, i8 and c4 describe beds from that earlier range.
Reviewed by the World Sleep Almanac editorial team. Updated 2026.