Saatva Classic suits shoppers who want a coil hybrid with a choice of comfort levels; Turmerry Bigg+ Natural Latex Mattress for Heavy People targets buyers seeking an all-latex design made for heavier sleepers. If you specifically want a modular latex mattress, skip the Saatva Classic and choose Bigg+ instead: its layered latex build is the concrete difference.
A strong alternative
Saatva Classic: The hybrid choice for comfort-level flexibility
- 365-night home trial
- Free white-glove delivery and setup; free old-mattress removal when selected at checkout
- Lifetime warranty
- Three comfort levels, including Plush Soft, Luxury Firm and Firm
Who should buy Saatva Classic or Turmerry Bigg+?
Choose Saatva Classic if you want a coil hybrid with several comfort choices; choose Turmerry Bigg+ if your priority is an all-latex mattress designed for heavier sleepers. Turmerry positions Bigg+ for people above 230 pounds, while Saatva lists its Firm comfort level as suited to heavier sleepers in the 250 to 300-pound range.
This is a choice between different constructions and buying priorities, not simply a contest over which mattress feels firmer. Saatva gives shoppers three distinct comfort levels, while Turmerry lets buyers select the feel of the top layer in its latex stack. The right match depends first on whether a hybrid or a latex-only build is the non-negotiable feature.
Bigg+ is the more targeted option for someone seeking a mattress designed specifically for a heavier sleeper and built around extra-firm latex layers. Saatva Classic is the better fit for someone who wants a traditional hybrid format and a choice between a softer, more cushioned feel and firmer options. Saatva also identifies its Firm feel as suited to stomach and back sleepers, while its Luxury Firm option is presented for all sleep positions.
- Choose Saatva Classic for a hybrid feel, multiple comfort choices and white-glove setup.
- Choose Turmerry Bigg+ for a modular, all-latex design intended for heavier sleepers.
How do the Saatva Classic and Turmerry Bigg+ specs compare?
Saatva lists a dual-coil design with more than 1,000 recycled carbon-steel coils in Full and larger sizes; Turmerry describes Bigg+ as a zoned latex mattress. The table summarizes their stated feel options, construction, height and buying terms so you can see where each product has a different practical appeal.
| Specification | Saatva Classic | Turmerry Bigg+ Natural Latex Mattress for Heavy People |
|---|---|---|
| Feel options | Plush Soft, Luxury Firm or Firm | Medium Firm, Firm or Extra Firm |
| Construction | Euro pillow top over a dual-coil design | Layered Dunlop latex in a zippered cover |
| Height | 11.5 inches or 14.5 inches | 12 inches |
| Trial | 365-night home trial | 120-day trial |
| Warranty | Lifetime warranty | 20-year warranty |
| Shipping | Free white-glove delivery and setup | Free shipping across the US |
| Price | $1,904 promotional price shown ($2,229 struck through); size not stated | Starting price shown: $1,299; size not stated |
See the Classic price in your size →
Which mattress has the feel and support you want?
Saatva lists Plush Soft at 3/10, Luxury Firm at 5 to 7/10, and Firm at 8/10. Saatva describes Plush Soft as body-hugging, Luxury Firm as a medium balance of cushioning and uplift, and Firm as a floating-on-top feel.
The named options are useful because the Saatva range is not one fixed level of firmness. Plush Soft is aimed at side sleepers and lighter-weight people who prefer extra cushioning; Luxury Firm is positioned for all sleep positions and couples with different firmness preferences. Firm is the choice Saatva points to for sleepers who prefer a very firm surface, including stomach and back sleepers.
Bigg+ gives buyers three top-layer configurations: Medium Firm, Firm and Extra Firm. The lower layers remain extra firm in each arrangement, while the selected top layer changes the feel at the surface. Turmerry describes this as a way to combine a supportive latex core with a chosen degree of cushioning, rather than selecting a single fixed comfort level.
That distinction makes the comparison relatively clear. Saatva varies the overall feel across three named comfort levels in a hybrid mattress; Bigg+ keeps its extra-firm lower layers and changes the upper layer. If your main decision is between a spring-based hybrid and latex layers, start with that construction difference before comparing the feel labels.
What materials make up each mattress?
Both products combine a cushioned surface with a support system, but the materials differ. Saatva describes a 3-inch Euro pillow top over a dual-coil design, while Turmerry describes a 3-inch latex comfort layer above its firm latex layers, with each option built from three additional layers.
Saatva says its Classic uses recycled carbon steel coils tempered three times and a cover blend that includes organic cotton. The company also lists certified foams. Its construction is a hybrid approach: a cushioned top over a coil system, rather than a mattress made entirely from latex.
Turmerry describes Bigg+ as an all-foam latex mattress with Dunlop latex layers and an organic cotton zippered cover. The selected top layer can be Medium Firm, Firm or Extra Firm; the three layers below it are Extra Firm. For shoppers comparing latex options, our guide to latex mattresses adds context on that material category, while Saatva’s coil-based design belongs in a comparison of hybrid mattresses.
These are not interchangeable versions of the same recipe. Saatva’s Euro top and dual-coil system provide a hybrid structure; Turmerry’s layered latex design allows the top layer to be selected and arranged inside its cover. That difference matters most to buyers who already know whether they want springs or an all-latex construction.
Which mattress suits hot or cold sleepers?
Both brands describe features intended to manage temperature, but their approaches are different. Turmerry says Bigg+ has two natural New Zealand wool layers for temperature regulation and perforated latex for airflow; Saatva attributes breathability to its cover and airflow through its dual-coil design.
Turmerry says the latex has an open-cell, perforated structure that allows air to circulate, and it describes the wool layers as temperature regulating. These are manufacturer descriptions of the materials and their intended role. Buyers drawn to latex can weigh those stated details alongside the mattress’s layered construction and selectable top feel.
Saatva describes the Classic’s cover as breathable and says its dual-coil design allows more airflow to disperse body heat. The brand also describes the cover as including organic cotton. Those features give Saatva a breathable-cover and coil-airflow approach, distinct from Turmerry’s perforated latex and wool layers.
Neither description establishes a cooling winner for every sleeper. The useful distinction is the design each brand highlights: Saatva points to its cover and coils, while Turmerry points to wool and perforated latex. If temperature-related materials are central to your decision, compare those features with the construction you prefer rather than treating the brands’ descriptions as a head-to-head performance test.
How should you compare value and price?
Turmerry says Bigg+ supports up to 1,100 pounds of total weight, which is part of its stated value proposition for heavier sleepers. On the official pages checked, Turmerry showed Bigg+ at a starting price of $1,299, and Saatva’s listing showed the Classic at $1,904 as a promotional price, with $2,229 struck through. Neither figure is tied to a named size here, so they are not compared size to size.
Value here is about which construction and purchase features matter to you. Bigg+ combines its stated weight capacity with a modular latex design; Saatva offers a hybrid with several selectable feels. A shopper looking specifically for a latex mattress may find the Turmerry design more relevant, while someone prioritizing a coil hybrid may see more value in the Saatva format.
Saatva’s amount is a promotional price and Turmerry’s is a starting price, so check today’s price in your size before ordering.
What do the trial and delivery policies mean?
The policies distinguish the products in more ways than trial length alone: Saatva describes an in-home return and refund process, while Turmerry lists a trial period and free US shipping. Saatva’s service includes in-room delivery and setup; the table shows the stated trial and warranty terms side by side.
Saatva says a mattress returned during its home-trial period qualifies for a refund of the purchase price. It also describes free white-glove delivery and setup, with old-mattress removal available when selected at checkout. Those details make the Saatva purchase route more service-led than a simple shipment to the door.
Turmerry lists free shipping across the United States and a trial period for Bigg+. Its assembly instructions describe placing the latex layers inside the zippered cover. That arrangement is a practical consideration for shoppers comparing a ready-delivered hybrid with a mattress that is assembled from separate layers.
Who should not buy Saatva Classic or Turmerry Bigg+?
Skip Saatva Classic if you require an all-latex, modular mattress, and skip Turmerry Bigg+ if a coil support system is non-negotiable. Frame details matter too: Saatva specifies platform slats at least 3 inches wide and less than 4 inches apart, while Turmerry says slat gaps should be no more than 3 inches.
Bigg+ is not the match for someone who wants a spring-based support system, because Turmerry describes it as an all-foam latex mattress. Saatva is not the match for someone whose main requirement is a stack of rearrangeable latex layers. These are material and construction differences, not small variations in the same mattress type.
The platform guidance also gives a concrete reason to rule out a setup that does not meet the relevant requirements. Saatva lists both minimum slat width and maximum spacing for its platform-bed compatibility. Turmerry sets a maximum slat gap; its stated guidance is not the same measurement as Saatva’s width requirement.
Is Saatva Classic a good alternative to Turmerry Bigg+?
Saatva Classic is the alternative for shoppers who want a hybrid rather than Turmerry’s layered latex construction. Saatva lists eight sizes, from Twin through Split Cal King, making its named standard and split formats relevant for buyers who need one of those sizes.
The Saatva Classic is not a substitute for Bigg+’s all-latex construction; its appeal is the different hybrid format and choice of feel. The Saatva Classic review explains its construction and comfort levels in more detail, while our Turmerry Bigg+ review for heavy people focuses on the latex option.
Choose the Saatva route if a dual-coil hybrid, a cushioned top and multiple comfort levels match your priorities. Choose Bigg+ if you specifically want layered Dunlop latex intended for heavier sleepers. The comparison is most useful when those construction preferences are clear, since neither mattress uses the other’s central design.
What else should Saatva Classic and Turmerry shoppers know?
Saatva says its Split King and Split Cal King sizes pair exclusively with the corresponding Saatva split adjustable bases, covering two split configurations. That setup detail sits alongside the different delivery and assembly approaches; the answers below address separate material, zoning and certification questions.
What does Turmerry say Bigg+ excludes?
Turmerry says Bigg+ has no fiberglass, polyurethane foam or chemical flame retardants. The brand also describes the mattress as having no toxic off-gassing. These are Turmerry’s stated material and product claims.
How does Turmerry describe Bigg+’s 7-zone layout?
Turmerry describes firmer support for the head and feet, medium-firm support for the upper back, lower back and hips, and softer comfort for the shoulders and thighs. The company presents that zoning as a way to vary support and cushioning across the mattress.
Which certifications does Saatva list?
Saatva lists CertiPUR-US certifications for the Classic. The brand also says the mattress is endorsed by the American Chiropractic Association.
Which mattress should you choose?
Choose Saatva Classic if you want a coil hybrid, several comfort levels and white-glove setup; choose Turmerry Bigg+ if layered latex for heavier sleepers is your priority. The World Sleep Almanac rates Saatva Classic 8.6/10, reflecting its range of feels, hybrid construction, stated buying terms and the breathable design features described by Saatva.
Verdict: Saatva Classic suits shoppers who want a hybrid with a choice of feel and a service-led delivery experience. Turmerry Bigg+ is the better match when you specifically want an all-latex mattress designed for heavier sleepers. Pick the construction you want first, then use the feel and policy differences to make the final call.
World Sleep Almanac score for Saatva Classic: 8.6/10
- Comfort choice: 9.0/10
- Construction: 8.5/10
- Trial and delivery: 9.0/10
- Temperature-related design: 8.0/10
The rating reflects the breadth of the listed feel options, the stated construction and buying terms, and the temperature-related features described by Saatva.
Saatva Classic suits buyers who want a hybrid and a choice of feel; Turmerry Bigg+ suits buyers focused on a modular latex build.
Reviewed by the World Sleep Almanac editorial team. Updated 2026.
Keep comparing
- Saatva HD Review: A Better Fit for Heavier Sleepers
- Saatva Latex Hybrid vs Eco Terra Hybrid Latex: Who Fits Which?
- Saatva Classic vs Vispring Baronet Superb: Saatva for Options
- Saatva Latex Hybrid vs Happsy Organic Mattress: Saatva for Zoned Feel
- Best Organic Mattress 2026: Saatva Latex Hybrid Wins, PlushBeds Second
- Best Latex Mattress 2026: Saatva Latex Hybrid Is the Pick
- Saatva Loom & Leaf vs WinkBeds GravityLux: Choose by Feel
- Puffy vs Black Diamond: Foam Fans Pick Puffy, Coil Fans Pick Diamond