FOLLOW US:
Ideas for home. Room for better sleep.Explore the sleep library
Menu
World DayHome · Decor · Sleep

Nolah vs Purple 2026: Which Mattress Should You Buy?

Choosing between Nolah and Purple comes down to feel and trial terms more than anything else. Nolah builds foam and hybrid mattresses with named foam layers and zoned coils, while Purple centers every model on its GelFlex Grid, a flexible gel surface that supports broad body areas while cradling pressure points. Both brands sell direct online with at-home trials, and both back the mattresses with a written warranty. The details below line up what each brand publishes so you can match the mattress to your sleep position, your heat preferences and how long you want to try it at home.

Saatva Classic mattress in a bedroom

A strong alternative

Saatva ClassicSaatva offers a 365-night home trial, while Purple offers a 100-night trial and Nolah offers a 365-night trial.

  • 365-night home trial
  • Free white-glove delivery and old-mattress removal
  • Lifetime warranty
  • Available in Plush Soft, Luxury Firm and Firm, plus two mattress heights

Check today’s Saatva price →

Which mattress should you choose, Nolah or Purple?

Nolah suits sleepers who want a familiar foam or hybrid feel with named comfort layers and clearly stated firmness numbers, and who prefer a 365-night trial with a 30-night minimum before a return. Purple suits sleepers who want the GelFlex Grid feel, a 100-night trial with a 21-night minimum, and a 10 year warranty. The rest of this page breaks the choice down axis by axis.

How do Nolah and Purple compare on paper?

Nolah lists layer counts, thickness and firmness scores for each model. Purple describes its collections by Grid height and foam pairing, and publishes trial, warranty and shipping terms across the line.

Axis Nolah Purple
Feel Foam contouring or responsive zoned coils, depending on model GelFlex Grid over foam or coils, described as instant pressure relief and cooling
Construction All-foam (7 layers) or hybrid (8 layers) Essential, Restore Hybrid and Rejuvenate Luxe collections
Firmness 5/10, 5-6/10, 4-5/10, 6-7/10 or 7-8/10 depending on model Not stated as numeric scores
Trial 365 nights, 30-night minimum before return, full refund 100 nights, 21-night minimum before return or exchange
Warranty Not stated on the Nolah pages we read; check Nolah's warranty page 10 year warranty from date of original purchase
Shipping Not stated in the available material Free shipping

What does each mattress feel like to sleep on?

Nolah describes two distinct feels. The Signature is an all-foam mattress with a medium feel at 5/10, built to give full-body support with precise pressure relief at the shoulders and hips, and it is aimed at side sleepers, back sleepers under 130 pounds and combination sleepers under 130 pounds. The Original is an all-foam mattress with a medium-firm feel at 5-6/10, described as gentle contouring with a balanced feel for most sleepers, though strict stomach sleepers and sleepers over 230 pounds are steered toward a firmer option. The Evolution is the hybrid: 8 layers, 14 inches thick, with three firmness options at 4-5/10, 6-7/10 and 7-8/10, so you pick based on weight, sleep position and comfort preference.

The Purple page describes the feel through the GelFlex Grid, a signature layer that supports broad body surfaces while cradling pressure points to relieve hip, shoulder and back pain. The Essential collection pairs 2 inches of Grid with premium foam layers, the Restore Hybrid adds up to 3 inches of Grid over responsive coils, and the Rejuvenate Luxe pairs up to 5 inches of Grid with a plush DreamLayer top and a cooling cover. If you want a number to compare against, Nolah gives you one; if you want a material story, Purple leads with the Grid.

Which is better for hot sleepers?

Nolah rates cooling on each model: the Evolution scores 10 out of 10 and offers an organic cotton or GlacioTex cover, while the Signature and Original both score 8 out of 10 with knit covers. Purple states that the GelFlex Grid delivers cooling alongside pressure relief, and the Rejuvenate Luxe adds a cooling cover on top of its Grid layers. If a numeric cooling score matters to your decision, Nolah publishes one; if you want the material claim, Purple’s Grid is the argument.

How do the trials and warranties differ?

Nolah runs a 365-night at-home sleep trial that begins the day the mattress arrives, requires at least 30 nights on the mattress before you start a return, and gives a full refund on a return. Purple runs a 100-night trial that begins on delivery, asks for at least 21 nights before a return or exchange, and picks the mattress up and issues a refund if it is not a fit. Purple also publishes a 10 year warranty covering replacement for defects starting from the date of original purchase, valid only for personal consumer use and requiring original dated proof of purchase, the official warranty document and law tags for a claim. The material available here provides no Nolah warranty terms, so weigh that gap when you compare long-term coverage.

Still deciding? If a longer trial and three comfort levels sound right, the Saatva Classic is worth a look.
See the Saatva Classic price in your size →

What do the prices look like?

Prices and promotions change often on all three brands’ sites, so check the current price for your size on each official product page before you buy.

Who should buy Nolah, and who should buy Purple?

Buy Nolah if you want a published firmness number to shop by, a foam or hybrid construction with named layers, and a 365-night trial with a 30-night minimum before a return. Side sleepers and lighter back or combination sleepers under 130 pounds have the clearest fit in the Signature, while the Evolution’s three firmness levels cover a wider range of weights and positions.

Purple also notes that many of its products are FSA/HSA eligible, which can matter for buyers paying through those accounts.

Is Nolah or Purple better for back pain?

Both brands make the case in their own words. Nolah quotes Healthline on the Evolution providing support for back and side pain, and quotes Mattress Advisor on the Signature receiving a nearly perfect score in pressure relief. Purple states that its GelFlex Grid cradles pressure points to relieve hip, shoulder and back pain. Neither brand’s claim is a substitute for medical advice, so treat these as brand statements and use the trial period to judge your own response.

What about the Saatva Classic as an alternative?

Saatva is a separate brand from Nolah and Purple, and the Saatva Classic sits outside this face-to-face as a separate option worth knowing about. It is an innerspring mattress with a 3 inch Euro pillow top, a dual-coil design using triple-tempered recycled carbon steel coils, and patented Lumbar Zone technology for spinal alignment. It comes in three comfort levels: Plush Soft at 3/10 for side and lighter sleepers, Luxury Firm at 5-7/10 as the most popular option for all positions, and Firm at 8/10 for stomach, back and heavier sleepers. It is available in two heights, 11.5 inches and 14.5 inches, and it carries a 365-night home trial, free white-glove delivery with in-room setup and free old-mattress removal, plus a lifetime warranty for the original purchaser. If a full year of trial time and in-home setup matter more to you than a Grid or a named foam layer, that is the reason to look at Saatva.

Verdict: for this face-to-face, Nolah wins for sleepers who want published firmness numbers and a longer trial, while Purple wins for sleepers who want the GelFlex Grid feel and a clearly published 10 year warranty. Pick Nolah if you shop by specs, pick Purple if you shop by material and feel. If you want the longest trial and in-home setup, the Saatva Classic is the alternative to consider.

A strong alternative

Saatva Classic365-night trial, three comfort levels, free white-glove delivery

Check today’s Saatva price →

World Sleep Almanac score: 7.8/10

The World Sleep Almanac editorial score for this matchup reflects published information across four criteria: trial and returns (8/10, both brands publish clear trial lengths and minimums), warranty (7/10, Purple publishes a 10 year term and Nolah’s terms are not covered here), materials and construction (8/10, both brands describe named layers and collections in detail), and public customer reviews (8/10, Nolah publishes verified buyer quotes and Purple publishes trial participant satisfaction percentages). The score is an editorial judgment based on these criteria, not a hands-on test.

Frequently asked questions

Is Nolah or Purple better for side sleepers?

Nolah names side sleepers directly: the Signature is described as an excellent fit for most side sleepers. Purple describes the Grid as cradling pressure points at the hips and shoulders.

How long can I try Nolah or Purple at home?

Nolah gives you 365 nights from delivery with a 30-night minimum before starting a return, and a full refund. Purple gives you 100 nights from delivery with a 21-night minimum before a return or exchange, and picks the mattress up at no stated fee.

Which brand has the longer warranty?

Purple publishes a 10 year warranty starting from the date of original purchase, valid for personal consumer use and requiring proof of purchase, the warranty document and law tags for a claim. Nolah’s warranty terms are not covered in the material available here, so confirm them before you buy.

Can I buy Nolah or Purple in a store?

Purple states that over 3,400 locations let you feel the GelFlex Grid in person.

Reviewed by the World Sleep Almanac editorial team. Updated 2026.

Keep comparing